At-large Director, Family Medicine Political Action Committee Board of Directors

At-large directors of the Family Medicine Political Action Committee (FMPAC) Board of Directors are nominated by the Michigan Academy of Family Physicians Executive Committee and elected by the MAFP Board of Directors to serve a two-year term.

FMPAC At-large Directors:

  • Must be MAFP members in good standing
  • Must attend a minimum of one meeting of the board annually
  • Must be willing to contribute to the FMPAC

At-large Director, 2021-2022 FMPAC Board of Directors


Dr. Chris Bush has served the Southeast Michigan community as a solo family physician for 40 years, providing primary and preventive healthcare to patients of all ages, from newborns to seniors. He is affiliated with Henry Ford Health System.

Dr. Bush earned his medical degree from Wayne State University in 1978 and completed residency at Beaumont Hospital in Grosse Pointe in 1981; that same year, he joined the Academy and has been an actively engaged member ever since.

To help train future generations of family physicians, Dr. Bush co-founded Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospital’s Department of Family Medicine, along with his Academy colleague Dr. Robert Jackson, and served as its first chair.

Committed to the belief that everyone deserves quality healthcare, Dr. Bush volunteers his time as president of the Wyandotte Clinic for the Working Uninsured, which provides local uninsured and medically underserved workers with the primary and preventive care they need.

Dr. Bush is also an exemplary volunteer leader at both the state and national level. He was MAFP President in 2012-2013, a MAFP Delegate to the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Congress of Delegates, and a volunteer member of numerous state and national committees. In addition to serving on the FMPAC Board of Directors, he is a current volunteer member of the MAFP Advocacy Committee.
Dr. Bush achieved the AAFP Degree of Fellow (FAAFP) in 1982 and was named MAFP’s 2018 Michigan Family Physician of the Year.