Medical Licensure in Michigan

In order to practice family medicine in Michigan, allopathic (MD) and osteopathic (DO) physicians must be licensed through the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA). After initial licensure, all licensed MDs and DOs in Michigan must renew their licenses and certify compliance with state continuing medical education (CME) laws every three years, by submitting the renewal application and paying the fee for licensure renewal. The deadline to renew MD licenses is Jan. 31. The deadline to renew DO licenses is Dec. 31.

How Do I Know When I Need to Renew?

Approximately 90 days prior to the 3-year expiration date of your license, LARA will send you a renewal notice to both your mailing and email addresses on file with the agency.
 
Per the Michigan Public Health Code, it is your responsibility as a licensed health professional to renew your license on time. Failure to receive the renewal postcard or email notification, or to notify LARA of an address/email change does not exempt physicians from renewing their license on time. Therefore, it is important to notify LARA of any address/email changes by making a modification to your account within its new online system (see below).
 
To check the status of your license, click here.

Applying for License Renewal

Effective Jan. 1, 2022, LARA is now accepting online applications only, via its new Michigan Professional Licensing User System (MiPLUS) at michigan.gov/miplus.
 
Before you begin your license renewal application, you register an account in MiPLUS, if you haven’t done so already. Be sure to use your name exactly as it appears on your current license; then, select “Modification” next to your license number and click on “Relicensure.” This is also where you can change your name, address, and/or email address.
 
If, once you register an account and log into MiPLUS, your license does not show up for renewal, contact LARA to have your account and license linked: 517.241.0199 or [email protected].
 
Licensure application processing typically takes 6-8 weeks from the date LARA receives an application. Relicensure application processing may take less time.
 
Licenses issued or renewed will be sent electronically via a PDF document to the email provided on the application, unless a paper copy of the license is requested during the application/renewal process. To check the status of your application, log onto Michigan.gov/appstatus and key in your Customer ID number.

CME Requirements

MDs are required to complete a minimum of 150 hours of Michigan Board of Medicine-approved continuing medical education (CME) credits during the three years immediately preceding the date of application for renewal. A minimum of 75 of the 150 hours must be earned in courses or programs designated as Category 1. The remaining 75 hours may be comprised of Category 1 and Category 2 credits.
 
DOs are required to complete a minimum of 150 hours of Michigan Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery-approved CME credits during the three years immediately preceding the date of application for renewal. A minimum of 60 of the 150 hours must be earned in courses or programs designated as Category 1; at least 40 of the 60 hours must be American Osteopathic Association Category 1-A.
 
In addition, for every 3-year renewal cycle, both MDs and DOs applying for renewal must earn at least:
 
1 hour of CME in MEDICAL ETHICS
  • This CME credit hour is required in addition to the total number of CME hours required for renewal
3 hours of CME in PAIN & SYMPTOM MANAGEMENT - beginning with the 2022 renewal cycle, at least one of the three hours must focus on prescribing opioids and controlled substances. CME hours in pain and symptom management may include, but are not limited to:
  • Public health burden of pain
  • Ethics and health policy related to pain
  • Michigan pain and controlled substance laws
  • Pain definitions
  • Basic sciences related to pain, including pharmacology
  • Clinical sciences related to pain
  • Specific pain conditions
  • Clinical physician communication related to pain
  • Management of pain, including evaluation and treatment and non-pharmacological and pharmacological management
  • Ensuring quality pain care and controlled substance prescribing
  • Michigan programs and resources relevant to pain
  • These CME credit hours are required in addition to the total number of CME hours required for renewal
3 hours of CME in IMPLICIT BIAS (NEW)
  • New applications for licensure require 2 hours of implicit bias training earned within the 5 years immediately preceding issuance of the license
  • If renewing prior to June 1, 2022, implicit bias training is not required for that renewal
  • Renewals after June 1, 2022, will need one 1 hour
  • Renewals in 2024 will need two hours
  • Renewals in 2025 and after will need three hours
  • One three-hour course or three 1-hour courses will meet the requirement
  • These CME credit hours are required in addition to the total number of CME hours required for renewal
It is important to understand that by applying and paying to renew your license, you are attesting that you have met these CME requirements; failure to complete the CME requirements is considered a violation of the Michigan Public Health Code. Therefore, if you have not completed your CME requirements, do not apply for renewal.
 
CME courses may be earned via teleconference, webinars, online presentation, live presentation, or printed or electronic media.

Human Trafficking CME

As of Dec. 2021, individuals seeking initial licensure in Michigan must now have completed 1 hour of CME in HUMAN TRAFFICKING prior to applying for a license. This is a one-time training and is not counted toward the 150 CME hours requirement.
 
Training content must cover all of the following:
  • Understanding the types and venues of human trafficking in the U.S.
  • Identifying victims of human trafficking in healthcare settings
  • Identifying the warning signs of human trafficking in healthcare settings for adults and minors

Controlled Substance License

If you will be prescribing, dispensing, manufacturing, or distributing controlled substances, you must apply for both a MD or DO license and a controlled substance license prior to obtaining a DEA license; to apply for a DEA license, visit dea.gov.
 
LARA also requires that physicians who will be prescribing, dispensing, manufacturing, or distributing controlled substances complete a one-time training in opioids and controlled substances awareness.
 
Michigan’s controlled substance license runs concurrently with a professional MD/DO license; therefore, both licenses expires on the same date. A controlled substance license can only be renewed in conjunction with renewing the professional license.
 
Apply for/renew a controlled substance license at MiPLUS.org—select “Modification” next to your license number and then click on “Controlled Substance Application.” 
 
Regardless of the number of locations where you prescribe, only one controlled substance license is required to prescribed controlled substances in Michigan. However, if you wish to dispense prescription drugs, you need a drug control license for each location in which you store and dispense prescription drugs.

Maintaining CME Records

LARA nor the Michigan Board of Medicine or Michigan Board of Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery maintain records of earned CME credit hours; physicians are required to maintain their own records and keep documentation for a minimum of four years from the date of applying for license renewal.
Both boards conduct random audits after each renewal period, so keeping accurate records and having complete documentation is essential.

These CME requirements help licensed physicians remain actively engaged in their respective profession and/or specialty area, in addition to staying on top of current standards and practices. LARA partners with MAFP and other statewide healthcare associations, along with its medical boards, as it continuously reviews these requirements to ensure they are meeting the needs of licensed physicians.


Renewal Grace Period

Following your 3-year license renewal deadline (Jan. 31 if you are a MD; Dec. 31 if you are a DO), LARA offers a 60-day grace period. If you do not renew your license within this grace period (Feb.1-Apr. 1 if you are a MD; Jan. 1-Mar. 1 if you are a DO), your license will lapse. If you have not completed your CME requirements by your 3-year license renewal deadline, you are allowed to use this grace period to complete the necessary CME credits.

Relicensure

If you fail to renew your license by your renewal deadline and the subsequent 60-day grace period, your license will lapse. An applicant whose license has lapsed for less than three years preceding the date of application for relicensure may be relicensed.
 
Your license expiration date will reflect the original renewal deadline—it will not include your grace period. For example, if your license expires on Jan. 31, you have until Apr. 1 to complete your renewal application and pay your renewal fee. If you do not renew by Apr. 1 (the end of the 60-day grace period), your license is considered lapsed as of Jan. 31 and you can no longer practice medicine in Michigan or identify yourself as a licensed physician in Michigan.

MAFP-hosted Training

To help members meet LARA's training requirements, Michigan Academy of Family Physicians / Family Medicine Foundation of Michigan hosts sessions on medical ethics, pain and symptom management, human trafficking, and implicit bias during its annual Michigan Family Medicine Conference & Expo and other CME events and live webinars as well as on-demand webinars.


Resources