Academy Awards

Each year, MAFP honors outstanding individuals in the Michigan Family Medicine community who exemplify the mission, vision, and values of the Academy. Awards are presented at a special Michigan Family Medicine celebration, which is held during the Michigan Family Medicine Conference & Expo.

To nominate a deserving individual in one of the award categories listed below, complete the nomination form and submit the required supporting materials to MAFP by March 1. (Please submit one nomination per form.)


Award Descriptions/Nomination Information

For more information about the award categories, including a more detailed description and eligibility criteria for each award, see the sections below. There is no cost to submit a nomination, and self-nominations are acceptable.

The "Archie" Award of Excellence
The "Archie" Award of Excellence is presented to honor an individual who resides in Michigan and differentiates himself/herself by his/her actions on behalf of MAFP and the healthcare community, similar to Archie W. Bedell, MD, PhD. The late Dr. Bedell of Ottawa Lake was a past president of MAFP who distinguished himself in service to the Academy, the specialty of Family Medicine, and the community-at-large throughout his career. Dr. Bedell was a pioneer in Family Medicine education and a champion of underrepresented constituents. This award was established by the MAFP Board of Directors in 2001.

Michigan Family Physician of the Year
The Michigan Family Physician of the Year award is presented to a physician who exemplifies the tradition and contributions of the Family Physician to the continuing health of Michigan residents. The recipient is selected annually from nominations submitted by MAFP members and the public.

Michigan Family Medicine Educator of the Year
The Michigan Family Medicine Educator of the Year award recognizes an educator who has made outstanding contributions to Family Medicine education in undergraduate, graduate and/or continuing education spheres.

Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year
The Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year award is presented to a resident who exhibits qualities of exemplary patient care, demonstrates leadership, displays a commitment to the community, contributes to scholarly activity and is dedicated to the specialty of Family Medicine.

Michigan Family Medicine Volunteer Leadership Award
The Michigan Family Medicine Volunteer Leadership Award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of Family Medicine by volunteering his/her time, expertise, and leadership to MAFP and/or Family Medicine Foundation of Michigan.

The selection of award winners is conducted by the MAFP Board of Directors. Winners will be contacted after a decision has been made, with a formal announcement to the MAFP membership soon-to-follow.

Contact us at or 517.347.0098 if you have questions or need assistance with a nomination.

Make a Nomination Here »


AAFP Awards

For more information on AAFP Awards, including a more detailed description and eligibility criteria for each award, select the award name below. To make a nomination, please contact MAFP Headquarters at or 517.347.0098 for details.

Please note: Many AAFP award nominations must come from MAFP Headquarters. If you have questions about this, please contact us.

  • AAFP Award for Distinguished & Meritorius Service Award
    This award recognizes a member's long-time dedication to furthering the specialty of Family Medicine within his/her chapter or nationally. It commends exceptional individual effort.
  • Humanitarian Award
    This award honors extraordinary and enduring humanitarian efforts, both within and beyond the borders of the United States.
  • Robert Graham Family Physician Executive Award
    This award was established to recognize an outstanding Family Physician for his/her role as a physician executive. This award is reserved for Academy members whose executive skills in healthcare organizations have contributed to excellence in the provision of high quality healthcare, and demonstrated that Family Physicians can have an impact on improving the overall health of the nation.
  • Thomas W. Johnson Award for Career Contributions to Family Medicine Education
    This award is designed to recognize persons who, in the opinion of the AAFP Board of Directors, have made outstanding contributions to education for Family Medicine in undergraduate, graduate and continuing medical education spheres.
  • Outstanding Service Award
    This award is the Academy's highest recognition for vendors, suppliers and companies that support the medical profession or their employees, and members of the AAFP national staff who have fostered the mission of Family Medicine and the Academy through contributions of time, effort or resources. Such contributions could either be made over time or through a single significant effort.
  • Public Health Award
    This award recognizes extraordinary contributions to the American public's health.
  • Honorary Membership
    This award recognizes persons of distinction who have rendered outstanding service to the AAFP or the medical profession, or for distinguished members of the AAFP who have retired from practice.
  • Exemplary Teaching Awards
    These awards acknowledge Academy members who deserve recognition of exemplary teaching skills as well as individuals who have implemented outstanding educational programs and/or developed innovative teaching models.
  • Nikitas J. Zervanos Outstanding Program Director Award
    This award recognizes a Family Medicine residency director who has demonstrated leadership and advancement of the specialty, served as a mentor to residents/medical students, and served the community as well as the organizations of the family of Family Medicine.
  • AAFP Foundation Philanthropist of the Year Award
    This award identifies an individual(s) or couple(s) who exemplify the spirit of philanthropy through extraordinary support of Family Medicine.