Archie W. Bedell, MD, PhD Award of Excellence (The "Archie")

The "Archie" Award of Excellence is presented to honor an individual who resides in Michigan and differentiates himself/herself by his/her actions on behalf of MAFP and the healthcare community, similar to Archie W. Bedell, MD, PhD. The late Dr. Bedell of Ottawa Lake was a past president of MAFP who distinguished himself in service to the Academy, the specialty of Family Medicine and the community-at-large throughout his career. Dr. Bedell was a pioneer in Family Medicine education and a champion of underrepresented constituents. This award was established by the MAFP Board of Directors in 2001.

At the right is Fred Van Alstine, MD, MBA (Gaylord), whom MAFP honored with the "Archie" Award of Excellence in 2018. He is pictured with MAFP Chair Loretta Leja, MD (Cheboygan). READ MORE

MAFP members or representatives of medical organizations may submit nominations to MAFP by March 1. Awardees are honored at a special Michigan Family Medicine celebration, which is held during the Michigan Family Medicine Conference & Expo.


The nominee for this award must have distinguished service to MAFP, the specialty of Family Medicine and/or the community-at-large, including at the local, state, national and/or international levels. Nominees may be physicians, non-physicians or corporate entities.

To Submit a Nomination

  • Complete a nomination form by March 1 for each nominee.
  • Submit* to MAFP by March 1 the following supporting materials:
    • A letter of recommendation from a non-family member of the nominee who also supports the nomination.
    • Any additional supporting materials that the nominator feels will help in the decision-making process.

*To submit supporting materials to MAFP, email them to; fax to 517.347.1289; or mail to: MAFP, Attn: Academy Awards, 2164 Commons Parkway, Okemos, MI 48864.

Submit a Nomination Here »


Past Award Winners

George Mogill, MD, FAAFP
(Bloomfield Hills)
James F. Peggs, MD
Karen B. Mitchell, MD, FAAFP
Susan Schooley, MD
George Dean, MD, FAAFP
(Bloomfield Hills)
Timothy J. Tobolic, MD
(Byron Center)
Nell A. Rhoades*
Douglas Jackson, MD*
William P. Gifford, MD
John Zimmerman, MD
(Grand Rapids)
Janice Klos, CAE
(formerly Grand Ledge)
Duane Possanza, MD
Kim K. Yu, MD, FAAFP