Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year

The Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year award is presented to residents who exhibit qualities of exemplary patient care, demonstrate leadership, display a commitment to the community, contribute to scholarly activity, and are dedicated to the specialty of family medicine.


  • Nominees must be resident members of MAFP at the time of their nomination and spend at least 50% of their time providing patient care. All previously nominated residents who were not selected are eligible for reconsideration; however, this does require re-nomination.
  • MAFP members, residency program directors, faculty, colleagues, hospital administrators, and patients are invited to submit nominations.

Submit a Nomination

  • Complete the nomination form by March 1.
  • Submit* to MAFP by March 1 the following:
    • Letter(s) of recommendation from the nominee’s residency program director; if the residency program director is the nominator, please submit a letter of recommendation from another residency program faculty member
    • Letter(s) of recommendation from a physician colleague, hospital administrator, patient, and/or or community leader who has personally worked with the nominee
    • CV
    • Additional materials that will help in the decision-making process

*Email to [email protected]; fax to 517.347.1289; or mail to: MAFP, Attn: Academy Awards, 2164 Commons Parkway, Okemos, MI 48864.

Submit a Nomination Here »

Past Award Winners

Sravani Alluri, MBBS (Kalamazoo)
Jawan Gorgis, MD (Troy) and Julie Thai, MD, MPH (Flint)
Cara Crawford-Bartle, MD
Kristin Renwick, MD
Benjamin Davidson, MD, MBBS
(Grand Rapids)
Bashar Yalldo, MD
(South Lyon)
Elizabeth "Libby" Pionk, DO
Cheryl Smith, MD