Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year

The Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year award is presented to a resident who exhibits qualities of exemplary patient care, demonstrates leadership, displays a commitment to the community, contributes to scholarly activity and is dedicated to the specialty of Family Medicine.

At the right is the 2018 Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year, Kristin Renwick, MD (Southfield) pictured with MAFP Chair Loretta Leja, MD and Karen Mitchell, MD, FAAFP. READ MORE

MAFP members, Family Medicine residency faculty, or other members of a Family Medicine residency administrative staff may submit nominations for the 2019 award to MAFP by March 1. The annual award is presented at a special Michigan Family Medicine celebration, which is held during the Michigan Family Medicine Conference & Expo.


The nominee for this award must be a current resident member of MAFP, be in a Family Medicine residency program in Michigan, and spend at least 50% of his/her time providing patient care. All previously nominated residents who were not selected are eligible for reconsideration; however, this does require re-nomination.

To Submit a Nomination

  • Complete a nomination form by March 1 for each nominee.
  • Submit* to MAFP by March 1 the following supporting materials:
    • A letter of recommendation from the nominee’s residency program director; if the residency program director is the nominator, please submit a letter of recommendation from another residency program faculty member.
    • A letter of recommendation from a physician colleague, hospital administrator, patient or community leader who has personally worked with the nominee.

*To submit supporting materials to MAFP, email them to info@mafp.com; fax to 517.347.1289; or mail to: MAFP, Attn: Academy Awards, 2164 Commons Parkway, Okemos, MI 48864.

Submit a Nomination Here »


Past Award Winners

Benjamin Davidson, MD, MBBS
(Grand Rapids)
Bashar Yalldo, MD
(South Lyon)
Elizabeth "Libby" Pionk, DO
Cheryl Smith, MD