AAFP President Confers Degree of Fellow to MAFP Members

July 9, 2022 – American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) President Sterling Ransone, Jr, MD, FAAFP conferred the Degree of Fellow to nine active physician members of the Michigan Chapter at its 2022 Annual Meeting, held today at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island.

  • Kathryn Harmes, MD, FAAFP (Chelsea)
  • Carla Hunter, MD, FAAFP (Detroit)
  • Brandon Karmo, DO, FAAFP (Farmington Hills)
  • Rachel Klamo, DO, FAAFP (Oxford)
  • Arturas Klugas, MD, FAAFP (Alma)
  • Rojy Philip, MD, FAAFP (Sterling Heights)
  • Rachel Sabb, MD, FAAFP (Ann Arbor)
  • Nathan Sailor, DO, FAAFP (Williamsburg)
  • Ralph Williams, MD, FAAFP (Oak Park)

The Degree of Fellow—denoted by the post-nominal initials FAAFP—was established in 1971 by the AAFP Congress of Delegates as an avenue for special recognition of Academy members who have distinguished themselves among their colleagues, as well as in their communities, by their service to the family medicine specialty, the advancement of healthcare to the American people, and their professional development through medical education and research. 

Upon taking the FAAFP oath, these distinguished individuals promised to dedicate themselves to the principles upon which the Academy was founded, to providing comprehensive lifelong care to their patients, to exemplifying the highest traditions of their profession, and to enhancing their professional skills through continuing medical education. They further pledged their commitment to improving the health of their patients, their families, and communities, and to advancing the specialty of family medicine.

With the addition of these new Fellows, there are now 472 AAFP Fellows in Michigan.

To learn more about and apply for this prestigious distinction, click here.