AAFP President Confers New AAFP Fellows


MAFP was honored that American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) President Wanda Filer, MD, MBA, FAAFP (York, PA) attended the 2016 Michigan Family Medicine Annual Conference & Expo as a special guest and speaker. She also conferred the AAFP Degree of Fellow to six Michigan Family Physicians during the Annual Meeting on July 12:

  • Peter T. Graham, MD, FAAFP (Lansing)
  • Walter Klimkowski, MD, FAAFP (Shelby Township)
  • Ross Ramsey, MD, FAAFP (Elkton)
  • Joanne Root, DO, FAAFP (Traverse City)
  • Ida Rubino, MD, FAAFP (Sterling Heights)
  • Peter Tucker, MD, FAAFP (Royal Oak)

The AAFP Degree of Fellow was established in 1971 by the Congress of Delegates as an avenue for special recognition of those members of the AAFP who have distinguished themselves among their colleagues, as well as in their communities, by their service to Family Medicine, the advancement of healthcare to the American people, and by their professional development through medical education and research. As a Fellow, these distinguished individuals are entitled to all the privileges, ceremony and honor bestowed by this degree. There are now 470 AAFP Fellows in the Michigan chapter.

Click here to learn more about the Degree of Fellow and the application requirements.