MAFP Members Elect New Leaders

July 9, 2022 - Today, members of Michigan Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) met at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island for the 2022 Annual Meeting to elect new officers and directors of the Board.

“We look forward to a productive year ahead, under the guidance and strategic vision of newly installed MAFP Board President Glenn Dregansky, DO, FAAFP. Building on the significant achievements of past presidents, most recently Srikar Reddy, MD, FAAFP (2021-2022), the Academy is poised to continue its work of advancing family medicine in Michigan, elevating the voice of family physicians, and advocating for legislation, policies, and initiatives aimed at increased access to care for all in our state,” said Karlene Ketola, MSA, CAE.

American Academy of Family Physicians President Sterling Ransone, Jr, MD, FAAFP installed the newly elected officers and directors:

  • President-elect: Beena Nagappala, MD, MPH
  • Vice President: Rachel Klamo, DO, FAAFP
  • Speaker: Bashar Yalldo, DO
  • Treasurer: Brandon Karmo, DO, FAAFP
  • AAFP Delegates: Loretta Leja, MD; and Tina Tanner, MD, FAAFP
  • AAFP Alternate Delegates: Mary Marshall, MD, RN, FAAFP; and Mustafa ‘Mark’ Hamed, MD, MBA, MPH, FAAFP
  • Members at Large: Harshini Jayasuriya, MD, FAAFP; Madeleine McMcall, DO; Christopher Milback, MD, MBA, FAAFP; Holli Neiman-Hart, MD, FAAFP; Delicia Pruitt, DO, FAAFP; and Susan Stevens, DO, FAAFP
  • Resident Member: Mikita Arora, MD
  • Student Member: Christian Mackey, MPH

They join Kristi VanDerKolk, MD, FAAFP and Teniesha Wright-Jones, DO, FACOFP, who are in the midst of their two-year term; MAFP Chief Executive Officer Kalrene Ketola, MSA, CAE, an ex officer Board member; and Dr. Reddy, now serving as chair of the Board.

To learn about the Board members, click here.

To apply for Board service in 2023-2024, click here.