Policy, Elections, Networking at AAFP Congress of Delegates

Sept. 29, 2022 - The 2022 AAFP Congress of Delegates met in person Sept. 18-21, after a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19. Representing MAFP were Delegates Loretta Leja, MD and Tina Tanner, MD, FAAFP and Alternate Delegates Mary Marshall, MD, RN, FAAFP and Beena Nagappala, MD, MPH (substitute for Mark Hamed, MD, MBA, MPH, FAAFP), as well as MAFP Chief Executive Officer Karlene Ketola, MSA, CAE and Director of Government Relations Matt Black.

Also in attendance in leadership roles from Michigan were Delicia Pruitt, MD, MPH, FAAFP and Mikita Arora, MD. Dr. Pruitt was elected at the 2022 National Conference of Constituency Leaders earlier this year to serve as a Member Constituency Alternate Delegate at the 2022 COD. She will move up to the Member Constituency Delegate position when the Congress convenes in 2023.

Dr. Arora was elected at the 2021 National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students to serve as Resident Alternate Delegate to the 2021 COD; she then moved up to the Delegate position, representing resident members at this year’s COD.


Due the 2021 Congress sessions being held virtually, 39 resolutions from 2021 were considered prior to addressing the 31 resolutions submitted for debate and vote this year. Among the resolutions were two submitted by MAFP. Supporting Patients Across the Spectrum of Abortion Care was determined to be current policy; therefore, it was combined with other policies from last year and not considered as an independent item. MAFP’s second proposed resolution called for the American Board of Family Medicine to create an emeritus status. Following recommendation by the Reference Committee on Cross-Topical Issues, the Congress voted to not adopt the resolution.

Click here for a full report of all resolutions considered by the 2022 Congress of Delegates.

Leadership Elections

Also during the Congress meeting, Tochi Iroku-Malize, MD, MPH, MBA, FAAFP of Long Island, NY, was installed as AAFP’s 75th president, and the following leaders were elected:

President-elect: Steven Furr, MD (Jackson, AL)
Board of Directors: Kisha Davis, MD, MPH (Bethesda, MD), Jay Lee, MD, MPH (Lee Costa Mesa, CA), and Teresa Lovins, MD (Columbus, IN)
Speaker: Russell Kohl, MD (Stilwell, KS)
Vice Speaker: Daron Gersch, MD (Avon, MN)
New Physician Board Member: Rupal Bhingradia, MD (Jersey City, NJ)
Resident Board Member: Chase Mussard, MD (Portland, OR)
Student Board Member: Richard Eastering (Jackson, MS)

Looking Ahead

AAFP Chief Executive Officer Shawn Martin addressed the Congress, highlighting AAFP’s 75th anniversary and the Academy’s current performance, noting that “unlike many other organizations, (AAFP) is emerging from the pandemic strategically, operationally, and financially strong.” He then focused on what he referred to as “the next chapter,” grounded in AAFP’s commitment to advancing the specialty of family medicine, strengthening family physicians’ collective voice, and providing solutions to enhance patient care. Among AAFP’s priorities, he said, are supporting and promoting innovation in primary care delivery and payment, reforming administrative burden, and weaving diversity, equity, and inclusiveness throughout the Academy’s work. Click here to read Mr. Martin’s remarks in their entirety.