Riverview’s Dr. Bush Named Michigan Family Physician of the Year

MAFP Chair Loretta Leja, MD (Cheboygan) and 2018 Michigan Family Physician of the Year E. Christopher Bush MD, FAAFP (Riverview).

E. Christopher Bush, MD, FAAFP of Riverview, Michigan, was recognized as the 2018 Michigan Family Physician of the Year on July 14 during the Michigan Family Medicine Conference & Expo at Radisson Plaza Hotel in Kalamazoo.

Michigan Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP)—the largest medical specialty organization in the state—presents this prestigious award each year to a Family Physician in Michigan who exemplifies the tradition of the family doctor and the contributions of the specialty of Family Medicine to the continuing health of our state’s residents.

Dr. Bush has served the Southeast Michigan community as a Family Physician for more than 40 years, providing primary and preventive healthcare to patients of all ages, from newborns to seniors.

To help train future generations of Family Physicians, he co-founded Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospital’s Department of Family Medicine and served as its first chair.

Committed to the belief that everyone deserves quality healthcare, Dr. Bush volunteers his time to serve as president of the Wyandotte Clinic for the Working Uninsured, which has provided more than 20,000 local uninsured and medically underserved workers with the primary and preventive care they need.

Dr. Bush is also an exemplary volunteer leader at both the state and national level. He serve as MAFP President in 2012-2013, and is currently the senior Michigan Delegate to the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Congress of Delegates, a member of MAFP’s Advocacy Committee and editorial panel, and a member of AAFP’s Commission on Finance and Insurance, a seat he holds until 2021.

“Dr. Bush is a shining star of Michigan healthcare and a champion for increasing access to primary care,” said MAFP Chair Loretta Leja, MD (Cheboygan).