SEMAFP Board Elects Officers, Plans for the Future

Aug. 17, 2022 - Board members of Southeastern Michigan Academy of Family Physicians (SEMAFP)—MAFP’s local chapter representing members in Oakland, Wayne, and Macomb counties—convened on July 20 for their quarterly meeting. Drs. Pierre Morris, Chris Bush, and Cindy Hung were recently re-elected and Dr. Srikala Yedavally-Yellayi attended her first meeting as a newly elected board member.

Officer elections took place, and Dr. Morris was re-elected president, Dr. Susan Stevens was re-elected vice president, Dr. Kathleen Fulgenzi was re-elected treasurer, and Dr. Sheala Jafry was elected secretary.

Many topics were discussed and decisions made during the 2.5 hour meeting. The Board reviewed the 2022 Patsalis Vanguard Award applications, considered charitable causes for possible sponsorship opportunities, organized upcoming member events at AAFP’s FMX in Washington, DC, and the 2023 all-member local event, and discussed SEMAFP marketing and family medicine promotion strategies.

SEMAFP’s next meeting will be held during its all-member and family event on Sept. 17, at the Dossin Great Lakes Museum on Belle Isle. The deadline to register for this complimentary event open to all SEMAFP members is Sept. 2

Pictured (L-R): Rose Moschelli (administrative assistant), Dr. Sheala Jafry, Dr. Ralph Williams, Dr. Srikala Yedavally-Yellayi, Dr. Cindy Hung, Dr. Susan Stevens, Dr. Ruth Mays, Dr. Pierre Morris, and Dawn Bolles (administrative assistant)