SEMAFP Elects Board Members

April 19, 2022 - The Southeastern Michigan Academy of Family Physicians (SEMAFP)—a local chapter of MAFP representing members who live, work, and/or train in the Southeast Michigan counties of Oakland, Wayne, and Macomb—recently held elections to fill four open board positions.

SEMAFP Officers E. Chris Bush, MD, FAAFP (Riverview) and Cindy Hung, MD, FAAFP (Clarkston), and President Pierre Morris, MD (Novi) were re-elected to their positions.

Srikala Yedavally-Yellayi, DO, FAAFP (pictured at right; Sterling Heights) was elected to her first 2-year term as a new SEMAFP Board member. Dr. Yedavally-Yellayi, an assistant professor of family medicine, family medicine clerkship director, and global health co-director at Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine and faculty at Beaumont Health-Troy Family Medicine Residency, steps into her role as an officer with an extensive background in medical student and family medicine residency education.

The Board thanks all candidates who submitted interest in the elected positions; their advocacy for family medicine and passion for active participation in this chapter’s community initiatives were evident from their personal statements. 

Continuing on the SEMAFP Board are Vice President Susan Stevens, DO, FAAFP (Livonia), Secretary/Treasurer Kathleen Fulgenzi, MD (Grosse Pointe Woods), and Officers Sheala Jafry, MD, FAAFP (Rochester Hills), Ruth Mays, MD (Detroit), and Ralph E. Williams, II, MD, FAAFP (Detroit).

SEMAFP welcomes the input and assistance of all members, as these nine volunteer board members continue to advocate for family medicine on both the local and national levels, as well as focus on community and charitable activities that address the needs of Oakland, Wayne, and Macomb counties.

Stay tuned for information about the SEMAFP All-Member & Family Event on Saturday, September 17 at the Dossin Great Lakes Museum on Belle Isle. Registration for this complimentary event will open this summer.