MAFP Student Ambassador Program  

Michigan Academy of Family Physicians' Student Ambassador Program is designed to strengthen the relationship between the Academy and Michigan’s medical schools, nurture family medicine and Academy champions, and enhance communications. We want to know what’s happening at your medical school, and we want to be sure all students are connected to Academy resources and support. The goal is for one student at each medical school campus in the state to be appointed as a MAFP Student Ambassador.

Roles & Responsibilities

  • Be a student member of MAFP (student Academy membership is FREE)
  • Serve as a liaison between MAFP and their medical school
  • Be a champion of the family medicine specialty and the Academy
  • Share news about the school and its students with MAFP
  • Share student-specific news from MAFP/AAFP with fellow students
  • Deliver an MAFP-prepared presentation to students at a Family Medicine Interest Group event during the academic year
  • Gain leadership development, add to their CV, learn how to be a voice for family medicine interests, network with students of other programs, and gain peer recognition
  • Commit up to 1-2 hours per month during the academic year

2024-2025 MAFP Student Ambassadors

Don’t see an ambassador representing your medical school?

  • Central Michigan University College of Medicine: Kathryn O' Keefe
  • Michigan State University College of Human Medicine-Flint Campus: Lucy Nguyen
  • Michigan State University College of Human Medicine-Grand Rapids Campus: 
  • Michigan State University College of Human Medicine-Lansing Campus: Paula Skwarek
  • Michigan State University College of Human Medicine-Midland Campus: Kelsey Bean, Hanna McArthur
  • Michigan State University College of Human Medicine-Southeast (Southfield) Campus: Lily Anderson 
  • Michigan State University College of Human Medicine-Traverse City Campus: Zachary Priebe
  • Michigan State University College of Human Medicine-Upper Peninsula Campus:
  • Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine: Annes Eum
  • Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine: Caroline Roberts, Jessica Ngo 
  • University of Michigan Medical School: Dominique Fahmy
  • Wayne State University School of Medicine: 
  • Western Michigan University Homer Stryker M.D. School of Medicine: Paulina Cradeur