'Academy' Awards             

MAFP's 2023 'Academy' Awards winnersEach year, MAFP honors outstanding individuals in the Michigan family medicine community who exemplify the mission, vision, and values of the Academy. Our 2024 "Academy" Awards will be presented during the Michigan Family Medicine Conference & Expo, taking place July 13 - 16, 2024, at The Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island.


The 'Archie' Award of Excellence

Honors Michiganders who, similar to the late Dr. Archie Bedell, differentiate themselves by their service to the Academy, the specialty of family medicine, and the community at-large. Dr. Bedell was a pioneer in family medicine education, a champion of underrepresented constituents, and a past president of MAFP.

Michigan Family Physician of the Year

Honors physicians who exemplify the tradition and contributions of the family physician to the continuing health of Michigan residents. Recipients are selected annually from nominations submitted by MAFP members and the public.

Michigan Family Medicine Educator of the Year

Recognizes educators who have made outstanding contributions to family medicine undergraduate, graduate, and/or continuing education in Michigan.

Michigan Family Medicine Resident of the Year

Presented to residents who exhibit exemplary patient care, demonstrate leadership, display a commitment to the community, contribute to scholarly activity, and are dedicated to the specialty of family medicine.

Outstanding Medical Student in Michigan Award

Recognizes outstanding medical students for academic excellence, leadership, service, and dedication to pursuing a career as a family physician.