History of MAFP

Michigan Association of General Practice Luncheon, 1955, DetroitIn June 1948, Michigan Academy of General Practice was chartered as the 19th state chapter of American Academy of General Practice. To more accurately reflect the changing nature of primary care, the national academy changed its name in 1971 to American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). State chapters followed suit, and our organization become known as Michigan Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP). In September 1990, MAFP was granted 501(c)(6) status by the Internal Revenue Service and incorporated as a Michigan nonprofit corporation.

Since 1948, MAFP has been led by an outstanding roster of family physicians who have dedicated their time and talent to advance the family medicine specialty in Michigan.

Past Presidents

2022-2023: Glenn Dregansky, DO, FAAFP
2021-2022: Srikar Reddy, MD, FAAFP
2020-2021: Mark Hamed, MD, MBA, MPH, FAAFP
2019-2020: Keerthy Krishnamani, MD, MBA
2018-2019: Mary Marshall, MD, RN, FAAFP
2017-2018: Loretta Leja, MD
2016-2017: Robert Jackson, MD, MMM, FAAFP
2015-2016: Kim Yu, MD, FAAFP
2014-2015: Tina Tanner, MD, FAAFP
2013-2014: Fred Van Alstine, MD, MBA
2012-2013: E Christopher Bush, MD, FAAFP
2011-2012: Peter Graham, MD
2010-2011: Jennifer Aloff, MD, FAAFP
2009-2010: David Walsworth, MD, FAAFP
2008-2009: Angelo Patsalis, MD, FAAFP**
2007-2008: Robert Reneker, Jr, MD, FAAFP
2006-2007: Lynn Gray, MD, MPH, FAAFP**
2005-2006: Peter Scuccimarri, MD
2004-2005: Douglas Colberg, MD, FAAFP
2003-2004: Danny Greig, MD, FAAFP
2002-2003: James Applegate, MD, FAAFP
2001-2002: Douglas Jackson, MD**
2000-2001: Edward Jackson, MD, FAAFP
1999-2000: Karen Mitchell, MD, FAAFP
1998-1999: Larry Carr, DO
1997-1998: Mary Elizabeth Roth, MD, FACPE
1996-1997: Archie Bedell, MD, PhD**
1995-1996: William Gifford, MD
1994-1995: Timothy Tobolic, MD
1993-1994: Michael Szymanski, MD
1992-1993: Bruce Deschere, MD
1991-1992: John Battle, MD**
1990-1991: Louis Sanford, MD**
1989-1990: Larry Kelly, MD, FAAFP
1988-1989: James Shetlar, MD, FAAFP
1987-1988: Gary Gazella, MD, FAAFP
1986-1987: L Edmond Eary, Jr, MD, FAAFP
1985-1986: BJ Woodley, MD**
1984-1985: C Edward Cotton, MD
1983-1984: William Allen, MD, FAAFP
1982-1983: Harold Kendrick, MD**
1981-1982: John MacKenzie, Jr, MD, FAAFP
1980-1981: Gary Ruoff, MD, FAAFP
1979-1980: Donald DeWitt, MD**
1978-1979: Gordon Willoughby, MD**
1977-1978: Charles Zimont, MD, FAAFP**
1976-1977: George Dean, MD, FAAFP
1975-1976: Robert Oakes, MD, FAAFP
1974-1975: Cecelia Hissong, MD, FAAFP
1973-1974: Louis Zako, MD
1972-1973: Robert Vitu, MD**
1971-1972: Joseph Fisher, MD**
1970-1971: James Dooley, MD**
1969-1970: Douglass Haddock, MD**
1968-1969: Lee Feldkamp, MD**
1967-1968: J Leonides Leach, MD
1966-1967: Edgar Cochrane, MD**
1964-1966: Fred Brace, MD**
1963-1964: Lyle Korum, MD**
1962-1963: Leighton Shantz, MD**
1961-1962: Howard Robinson, MD**
1960-1961: C Howard Ross, MD**
1959-1960: Howard Rees, MD**
1958-1959: Clark Rover, MD**
1957-1958: Francis Rhoades, MD**
1956-1957: John Rice, MD**
1955-1956: Russell Fenton, MD**
1954-1955: Kenneth Toothaker, MD**
1953-1954: Karl Swift, MD**
1952-1953: Frederick Luger, MD**
1951-1952: E Clarkston Long, MD**
1950-1951: John Failing, MD**
1949-1950: Leslie Henderson, MD**
1948-1949: Milner Ballard, MD**
1948: Arch Walls, MD**