Teniesha Wright-jonesTeniesha Wright-Jones, DO, FACOFP

Dr. Teniesha Wright-Jones is a 2003 alum of New York College of Osteopathic Medicine and completed residency at Ascension Providence Hospital in Southfield. Here she was elected chief resident in her final year of residency training. She has remained active in the residency program, serving as Osteopathic Program Director in 2009-2017 and now as program director—a position she has held since 2018.

Due to her role a family medicine program director, Dr. Wright-Jones said she feels it is important to serve on the MAFP Board of Directors to be a role model for residents and peers. Plus, she would like to contribute to the growth of MAFP and help advance its mission and goals—specifically health equity, diversity, and inclusion goals.

“As an African American, I represent a voice that is largely missing from leadership.” 

Dr. Wright-Jones is invested in serving her community of Southeast Michigan, being born and raised in the Metro Detroit area. She values being a role model and mentor to young and aspiring physicians. 

In addition to her academic medicine role at the residency program, Dr. Wright-Jones is an assistant professor at Michigan State University Colleges of Human Medicine and Osteopathic Medicine, volunteer faculty at Wayne State University, and practices at Ascension Providence Hospital’s Deighton Family Practice in Southfield.

Among her past recognition is the AAFP Award for Excellence in Graduate Medical Education—AAFP’s top award honoring just 12 residents annually for their outstanding leadership, civic involvement, exemplary patient care, and aptitude for and interest in family medicine.

Dr. Wright-Jones has served in many leadership positions within Ascension Providence and currently is chair of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council.

Outside of the Academy, Dr. Wright-Jones has remained an active member of many organizations including the Michigan Association of Osteopathic Family Physicians, American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians, Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors, and Society of Teachers of Family Medicine. She is a Fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians.