The Archie Award of Excellence

The "Archie" Award of Excellence honors Michiganders who differentiate themselves by their actions on behalf of MAFP and the healthcare community, similar to Archie W. Bedell, MD, PhD.

The late Dr. Bedell (Ottawa Lake) was a past president of MAFP who distinguished himself in service to the Academy, the specialty of family medicine, and the community at-large throughout his career. He was a pioneer in family medicine education and a champion of the underrepresented and underserved. This award was established by the MAFP Board of Directors in 2001.


  • Nominees must have demonstrated distinguished service to MAFP, the specialty of family medicine, and/or the community at-large, including at the local, state, national and/or international levels
  • Nominees may be physicians, non-physicians, or corporate entities

To Submit a Nomination

  • Submit* to MAFP by March 1 the following:
    • Letter(s) of recommendation from a non-family member of the nominee who also supports the nomination
    • CV
    • Additional supporting materials that will help in the decision-making process

*Email [email protected]; fax to 517.347.1289; or mail to: MAFP, Attn: Academy Awards, 2164 Commons Parkway, Okemos, MI 48864.

Past Award Winners

2021: Keerthy Krishnamani, MD, MBA, FAAFP

2020: Kenneth Bollin, MD and Robert Toteff, MD, FAAFP

2019: Loretta Leja, MD

2018: Fred VanAlstine, MD, FAAFP

2016: George Mogill, MD, FAAFP*

2013: James F. Peggs, MD

2008: Karen Mitchell, MD, FAAFP and Susan Schooley, MD

2007: George Dean, MD, FAAFP

2005: Timothy Tobolic, MD

2004: Nell Rhoades*

2003: Douglas Jackson, MD*

2002: William Gifford, MD and John Zimmerman, MD

2001: Janice Klos, CAE, Duane Possanza, MD, and Kim Yu, MD, FAAFP