Tina Tanner, MD, FAAFP Nominated for AAFP Board of Directors PDF Print Email
Latest News
Wednesday, April 24, 2024 11:02 PM

Tina Tanner, MD, FAAFP Nominated for AAFP Board of Directors

Michigan Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) member Tina Tanner, MD, FAAFP is among the first slate of candidates nominated for the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Board of Directors. Dr. Tanner is a past MAFP president and current delegate to the AAFP Congress of Delegates. Dr. Tanner is affiliated with Mercy Health and practices family medicine at Northshore Family Medicine in Muskegon, where she also serves as the primary care medical director for Muskegon and North Ottawa counties. Her subspecialities include women’s health, complementary and integrative medicine, healthcare and policy, and rural health. She is passionate about family medicine and a healthcare system that provides access to excellent and equitable care for all. 

Last fall, the Congress of Delegates changed the nominating process for AAFP Board elections to meet the Academy’s evolving needs. During its Sept. 22-25 meeting in Phoenix, the 2024 Congress of Delegates will consider the inaugural slate of candidates put forth by the Academy’s new Nominating Committee. The candidates for consideration by the COD are:


  • Gail Guerrero-Tucker, MD, MPH, FAAFP (Safford, Ariz)
  • Sarah Nosal, MD, FAAFP (New York, N.Y.)
  • Karen Smith, MD, FAAFP (Raeford, N.C.)


  • Russell Kohl, MD, FAAFP (Stilwell, Kan.)


  • Daron Gersch, MD, FAAFP (Long Prairie, Minn.)

At-large Directors

  • Tina Tanner, MD, FAAFP (Muskegon, Mich.)
  • Shannon Dowler, MD, CPE, FAAFP (Marshall, N.C.)
  • Elisabeth Fowlie Mock, MD, MPH, FAAFP (Bangor, Maine)
  • Kathleen Mueller, MD, FAAFP (Windsor, Conn.)
  • Jyothi Patri, MD, MHA, FAAFP (Clovis, Calif.)
  • Laura Yalden, MD, FAAFP (Englewood, N.J.)
For more information on the AAFP Nominating Committee, visit https://www.aafp.org/news/blogs/leadervoices/entry/candidate-slate.html