Michigan Family Medicine Educator of the Year

2024 FM Educator of the YearThe Michigan Family Medicine Educator of the Year award recognizes an educator who has made outstanding contributions to family medicine undergraduate, graduate, and/or continuing education in Michigan.

Click here to learn more about Dr. Jennifer Romeu.


  • Nominees must be MAFP members in good standing; previously nominated educators who were not selected are eligible for reconsideration (re-nomination required)

  • MAFP members, colleagues, residents, and medical students are invited to submit nominations

How to Submit a Nomination

  • Complete the nomination form by March 1

  • Submit* the following to MAFP by March 1:

    • Letter(s) of recommendation from a former student or resident

    • Letter(s) of recommendation from a family medicine educator from another institution

    • CV

    • Additional materials that will help in the decision-making process

*Email to [email protected]; fax to 517.347.1289; or mail to: MAFP, Attn: Academy Awards, 2164 Commons Parkway, Okemos, MI 48864.

Past Award Winners

2024: Jennifer Romeu, MD, FAAFP

2023: Juana Nicoll Capizzano, MD

2022: Julie Blaszczak, MD, MEHP

2021: Mark Paschall, MD

2020: Christine Medaugh, MD

2019: Srikala Yedavally-Yellayi, DO, MMEd, FAAFP

2018: Henry Barry, MD, MS

2017: Karen Mitchell, MD, FAAFP

2016: Sheala Jafry, MD

2015: Pierre Morris, MD

2013: William P. Gifford, MD

2012: George Smith, MD

2010: Rajiv Rangrass, MD, FAAFP

2009: Edward A. Jackson, MD, FAAFP

2008: Tsveti Markova, MD, FAAFP

2007: Eric P. Skye, MD, FAAFP

2006: Susan L. Radecky, MD

2005: John M. O’Brien, MD, FAAFP

2004: John Escott, MD

2003: Bob James Lorinser, MD

2002: William Wadland, MD, MS, FAAFP

2001: Bruce Deschere, MD

2000: Paul Werner, MD

1999: James Peggs, MD

1998: Robert Lachance, MD, MS, FAAFP

1997: Ralph Woodbury, MD, FAAFP

1996: Larry Kelly, MD, FAAFP

1995: Lewis E. Simoni, MD

1994: John Battle, MD

1993: James O’Brien, MD

1992: David Bosscher, DO, FAAFP

1991: Roy Gerard, MD, FAAFP*

1990: Gary Otsuji, MD, FAAFP