Michigan Family Physician of the Year

2024 MI Family Physician of the YearThe Michigan Family Physician of the Year award is presented to a physician who exemplifies the tradition and contributions of the family physician to the health of Michigan residents.

Click here to learn more about Dr. David Walsworth.


  • Nominee must be an active MAFP member in good standing; previously nominated physicians who were not selected are eligible for reconsideration (re-nomination required)
  • Nominee must be a practicing family physician
  • MAFP members, colleagues, hospital administrators, family medicine residency programs, family medicine departments, patients, and community members are invited to submit nominations

How to Submit a Nomination

  • Complete the nomination form by March 1
  • Submit* the following to MAFP by March 1:
    • Letters of recommendation from patients, colleagues, hospital administrators, and/or community organizations
    • CV
    • Additional materials that will help in the decision-making process

*Email to [email protected]; fax to 517.347.1289; or mail to: MAFP, Attn: Academy Awards, 2164 Commons Parkway, Okemos, MI 48864.

Past Award Winners

2024: David Walsworth, MD, FAAFP

2023: Raymond Rion, MD

2022: Theodore Tangalos, MD 

2021: Pamela Rockwell, DO, FAAFP

2020: Lynn Gray, MD, MPH, FAAFP** 

2019: James Applegate, MD, FAAFP

2018: E. Chris Bush, MD, FAAFP

2017: Christopher Pogliano, MD, FAAFP

2016: Scott Yaekle, MD

2015: Wasim Rathur, MD

2014: Mary Rupp, MD

2013: Zahid Sheikh, MD

2012: Stefani A. Hudson, MD

2011: Donald Fitch, MD

2009: Mitch Karey, MD

2008: James Hubbard, MD

2007: Douglas Colberg, MD, FAAFP**

2006: Louis Constan, MD, FAAFP

2005: Steve Pollens, MD

2003: Michael Szymanski, MD

2002: Michael Grossman, MD

2001: Peter Thoms, MD, FAAFP

2000: Jerry Walden, MD, FAAFP

1999: BJ Woodley, MD

1998: Loretta Leja, MD

1997: Samuel Dismond, Jr, MD, FAAFP**

1996: William Smith, MD

1995: Lloyd Appell, MD

1994: John Picone, DO

1993: Ralph Cram, MD, FAAFP

1992: Louis Sanford

1991: Robert Paxton, MD, FAAFP

1990: L Edmond (Ted) Eary, Jr, MD, FAAFP